NCS is directed by a Governing Board composed of parents, alumnae, and other friends of the School.
Six members serve ex officio: the bishop of Washington, the Head of School, two members of the NCS faculty, a representative of the NCS Alumnae Advisory Group, and a representative of the NCS Parents Association. The faculty members and the Alumnae Advisory Group and Parents Association representatives are nominated by the Board and elected by the Protestant Episcopal Cathedral Foundation, as are the remaining at-large members, who serve three-year terms.
The Governing Board entrusts the administration of the school to the Head of School. Primary responsibility for the well-being of the school rests with the Board. Its tasks include:
  • establishing policy for the educational affairs of the institution;
  • selecting and evaluating the Head of School; and
  • ensuring sound fiscal management, adequate philanthropic support, and wise conservation of the school's assets and physical plant.
    • NCS Governing Board 2023-2024


Laura Puryear
Mieka Freund Wick '93
Vice Chair
Linda Keene Solomon '82
The Rt. Rev. Mariann Edgar Budde
Bishop of Washington, ex officio

Joe Smolskis
Assistant Head of School for Finance & Operations

2023-2024 Members

List of 24 members.

  • David Ayres 

  • Mariann Budde 

  • Chris Calsyn 

  • Matthew Cutts 

  • Kim D'Abreu 

  • Jason Goodwin 

  • Franca Gutierrez 

  • Elizabeth "Liz" Hayes 

  • Suzanna Kang 

  • Cidalia Luis-Akbar 

  • William "Bill" Lynn 

  • Lucy "Lucy" McBride 91

  • Tushar Patel 

  • Carmen Perkins 

  • Kevin Perry 

  • Laura Puryear 

  • Michael Rankin 

  • Roland Reynolds 

  • Elinor Scully 

  • Antonio Sierra 

  • Linda Solomon 82

  • Gay Truscott 80

  • Teresa "Teri" Walters 80

  • Mieka Wick 93